Snapchat is an app based on temporarily available information. Your stories expire and your chat messages expire. This is what drives engagement with app users. If you do not interact with the content when it is available, you may not be able to do it later. Snapchat has added a new feature to your chat that allows you to delete a message sent on Snapchat. Works with one-to-one chat threads and group chat threads.
Here’s how to delete a message sent in Snapchat.
How To Delete A Sent Message On Snapchat
You must first update the Snapchat app to the latest version available. This feature has been added and works through an app update. This also means that if your friends use a previous version of the app, you may not be able to delete a message sent in the chat thread.
- After updating the app, send a message to a contact who knows you are running the latest version of the app.
- Press and hold the message you just sent and a menu will appear.
- You should have a “Delete” option there.
This feature requires that enough conditions are met to function. With our initial tests, the Delete button will simply not be displayed. When you delete a message for the first time, Snapchat tells you that it will try to delete it from your friends, however, it can’t always do it. Your site is poor on the Internet or a previous version of Snapchat is the reason why the cancellation may fail.
When you delete a message, the action appears in the chat only from you, or you will see the message “You deleted a chat” on your part, however, your friend will not see the same message at the end.
Also Read: Print directly from Your Android Smartphone
The best way is to delete the message as early as possible. If your friend has seen a message, there is no way to recover it, which means that with an active chat you have very little time to react. With group chats, you have a little more margin. It seems that as long as everyone in the group has not seen the message, it is still possible to recover it. We deduced it on the basis of the small demonstration that Snapchat offers new functionality. If you have a group chat with 6 people and send a message that only 3 or 4 have seen, you can still retrieve it.
How to delete all messages
Do you want to go beyond a single message? You can also delete the entire conversation, more or less.
- First, go to the Friends screen.
- Then, hold the message thread you want to delete.
- A pop-up menu will appear.
- Choose More, then tap Clear Conversation History.
This will remove the entire conversation from your friend’s screen. It won’t delete sent or saved messages, but it’s a good way to sort the screen of your friends so you can more easily find the most important conversations.