How To

Disable Resharing To Stories On Instagram

If you find an interesting post in your Instagram feed, you can share it with your followers in two ways; the Repost application or sharing it with your story. The Repost app fills a void that Instagram refuses to address; Share post-Instagram does not allow users to share a publication of their feed on their account. However, they can share a post about their Instagram story. This means that if your account is public, anyone who follows can also share their posts with their own stories. If you don’t like the idea that your posts are shared this way, you can disable the exchange of stories on Instagram.

Also Read: Identify Font in an Irregular Image

How To Disable Resharing To Stories On Instagram For Your Account

If you don’t know it yet, Instagram offers users excellent control over accounts, content, and notifications. Users can customize almost every aspect of everything.

  1. Open Instagram.
  2. Go to your profile tab.
  3. Tap on the hamburger icon in the upper right corner.
  4. A navigation drawer will open with a gear-shaped button at the bottom.
  5. Tap the gear button to access the Options screen.
  6. On the Options screen, you’ll see the “Resharing to stories”
  7. Tap on it and disable the switch to disable sharing of the story.

resharing-to-stories

When someone following you tries to share your post with its story, the option to share with the story simply doesn’t appear in the sharing menu. They can still take a screenshot of your post and then share it in their story, or even on their own. Instagram doesn’t exactly discourage screenshots. In fact, even Snapchat now allows it, so remember that every time you disable sharing options, a screenshot is still possible.

This setting has no impact on your ability to share posts in your stories. If a user has disabled the post option, they will not be able to share their posts, but other than that, there is nothing to stop them from sharing posts in its history.

If your Instagram account is private, this setting is not something to worry about. People following you will not be able to share your posts with their stories. The screenshot option will still be there.

If you disable the exchange of stories because you fear that your content is stolen, you should know that the shared publication is duly accredited by the person who made it. Stories also tend to expire after one day, so the duration of your publication is short. Finally, you can delete a post and it will no longer appear in anyone’s story.

Also Read: Remove Ads From Xiaomi Phone

To share your Instagram stories with those users you know and love is what the app is about. But that doesn’t mean you have to share them with people you don’t know. Disable this simple setup and keep your stories in your circle.

About the author

Rabia Siddique

Leave a Comment